DWI

19
Oct

Innocent Owner Defense in Minnesota

A vehicle subject to forfeiture following a DWI must be returned to an innocent owner under specific circumstances. Effective January 1, 2022, this innocent owner defense will be spelled out in the statute and should – in theory – make th…
Read More
28
Apr

Marijuana DUI - Actual Impairment Required

With 4/20 having come and gone recently, we thought it’d be an appropriate time to discuss the marijuana DUI laws in Minnesota. Certainly, with the likely legalization of marijuana in the not-too-distant future, marijuana DUI’s will becom…
Read More
9
Mar

Penalties for your First DUI in Minnesota

When we talk with new clients who picked up their first DUI, we often get asked about the possible penalties they face. And, what is hard for most to comprehend – at least at first – is that, even for your first DUI, the penalties are bot…
Read More
28
Dec

Questions to Ask Your DUI Lawyer

At North Star Criminal Defense, our attorneys have over 30 years of combined experience. So, needless to say, as DUI lawyers, we’ve seen it all and know how to handle any type of DUI case, from the routine to the complicated. And through this e…
Read More
20
Nov

DWI vs DUI in Minnesota - What's the Difference?

We get a couple common questions asked of us when people are facing DWI charges in Minnesota. First, some people want to know the difference between DWI vs DUI. Second, they are wondering why they are facing two charges for DWI stemming from the same…
Read More
15
Apr

DWI Aggravating Factors - Supreme Court Clarification

The severity of a DWI in Minnesota depends on the number of aggravating factors, if any. If there are none, the DWI is a misdemeanor offense, with no statutory sentencing requirements. If one or more DWI aggravating factors are present, the DWI can b…
Read More
5
Mar

Vehicle Forfeiture - How to Get Your Vehicle Back

To many, the most severe collateral consequence stemming from a DWI is the vehicle forfeiture. The vehicle forfeiture law is convoluted, but in essence it means that, if you are convicted of a second-degree DWI, or worse, then the State may lawfully…
Read More
23
Nov

DWI Breath Test - The Observation Period

When a driver gets arrested for a DWI, an officer takes them back to the station and requests an official test to determine the driver’s alcohol concentration level. In the vast majority of cases, the test offered is a breath test, administered…
Read More
8
Aug

Post-Driving Consumption - DWI Defense

If you are charged with a Minnesota DWI, there are a few affirmative defenses prescribed by law. One of them is post-driving consumption. Under Minn. Stat. 169A.46, post-driving consumption is a complete defense to a charge of DWI with an alcohol con…
Read More
1
Aug

DWI - License Revocation Law Change - 2018

One of the most immediate and difficult consequences that come from a DWI charge is the license revocation. A person charged with a DWI can have their license revoked for anywhere between 30 days and multiple years, including having a B-card restrict…
Read More

Schedule a Free Consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

closeClose